Skip to Content

Where is the Base Chakra?

Where is the Base Chakra?

The Base Chakra is located in the physical body at the bottom of the spinal cord, in line with the first three vertebrae and the pelvic floor. 

The seven major chakras are located along the centre of the body, along the spine. The Base Chakra, as the name suggests, is the first of the seven primary chakras. 

The kundalini body map

It is also known as the Root Chakra, First Chakra or Muladhara Chakra and it is followed by the Sacral ChakraSolar Plexus ChakraHeart ChakraThroat ChakraThird Eye Chakra and Crown Chakra.

Life force energy (also known as Prana) flows from the Base Chakra, along the spine, to the Crown Chakra. Energy flows through channels known as nadis – the three main nadis are the Ida, Pingala and Sushumna.

Due to the Base Chakra’s location in the physical body, it is connected to the lower body including the digestive system, lower back, perineum and legs. On an emotional and spiritual level, it governs our need for safety, security, and connection with others and the wider world. 

seven primary chakras and their physical and emotional manifestations


  • Clare Smith

    Hi, I’m Clare – writer and publisher of Chakra Practice. I’m a certified chakra energy healer and a philosophy major. I love researching and writing about everything to do with chakras, including trying out new crystals, candles, essential oils – anything that can help me in my practice.