Skip to Content

What is the Third Eye Chakra Symbol?

What is the Third Eye Chakra Symbol?

In this article we look at the Third Eye Chakra symbol, what it means and what it reveals about the role of our Sixth Chakra.

Key Takeaway

The Third Eye Chakra symbol is made up of an upside-down triangle within a circle surrounded by two lotus flower petals. Sometimes it also includes the Om sign in the center.

The Third Eye Chakra symbol reminds us of the human eye – the difference is this eye is for our spiritual insight and intuition beyond the physical world. The inverted triangle represents the flow of divine universal wisdom flowing through is, while the lotus flower signifies spiritual growth

What Is the Third Eye Chakra?

The Third Eye Chakra, or Ajna, is the sixth chakra in the subtle body. It is the center of intuition, representing wisdom, perception, strong intuition, and spiritual awakening.

Located between the eyebrows (which is why you might see it called the Brow Chakra), this chakra is linked to the pituitary gland and the color indigo.

When your Ajna Chakra is balanced, you will benefit from increased perception and intuition in your daily life. You’ll be able to see the bigger picture and make wise decisions, allowing for personal growth and self-awareness.

The Third Eye Chakra is also linked with the concept of circadian rhythms – our internal human body clock that regulates sleep, wakefulness, and hormonal processes.

These rhythms are influenced by the presence of light, which ties in with the idea of the “inner light” or “inner eye” guiding us through our spiritual journey.

Third Eye Chakra Symbol Attributes

The Third Eye Chakra symbol consists of a downward-facing triangle in a circle surrounded by a lotus flower. Let’s explore it in more detail:


The Third Eye Chakra symbol, also known as the Ajna Chakra, features two elements that are frequently associated with wisdom: an upside-down triangle and a lotus flower. The triangle sits within a circle which sometimes includes the Om symbol. 


The color associated with the Third Eye Chakra is indigo (which is why it is also sometimes referred to as the Indigo Chakra). Indigo represents wisdom, faith, and spiritual abilities.

Indigo combines dark blue and purple pigments – signifying the Third Eye Chakra’s role in balancing the Throat Chakra (which governs our communication) and the Crown Chakra (the center of higher human consciousness).

Third Eye Chakra Symbol v2
Third Eye Chakra Symbol

Third Eye Chakra Symbol Meaning

The Third Eye Chakra symbol gives us an insight into the 6th Chakra’s spiritual significance. It combines a lotus flower, circle and inverted triangle which all have their own spiritual meanings:

Lotus Flower

The Lotus flower, a significant part of the Third Eye Chakra Symbol, is often used in spiritual practices to represent enlightenment. 

Like the lotus flower which grows in muddy water and emerges through the water to the sun, we can also overcome the challenges in our daily lives to grow towards cosmic consciousness. That’s why it is sometimes referred to as the flower of life.

The lotus symbol encourages you to seek inner peace and overcome obstacles in your spiritual journey. The Third Eye Chakra Symbol contains two lotus petals which signify the balance between the physical and spiritual aspects of your life, as well as the balance between feminine and masculine energies in our body.

It reminds you to harmonize your energy and work towards balancing every part of your conscious and subconscious mind. 

The Circle

A circle is often seen as a protective symbol, guarding against outside influences and dangers. It also represents the cyclical nature of the universe and our lives. 

It is associated with eternity, timelessness, unity and the infinite. 

Inverted Triangle

The inverted triangle is another spiritual symbol which is often used to symbolize a higher level of wisdom and psychic abilities.

You can think of yourself as the bottom of the downward triangle – as your Third Eye opens wide, you unlock powers of intuition and perception which help you to connect with the divine.

The Om Symbol

In some interpretations of the Third Eye Chakra symbol you will also find an Om symbol in the center. The Om symbol has been used in spiritual teachings since ancient times, with it appearing in artifacts dating back to Ancient Egypt. You will often find it in yoga studios and other places focused on spiritual well being. 

In Hinduism,  it is thought to be the very first sound of the universe:

“Before the sound Om, there was nothing”

Vasavi Kumar, LMSW, MSEd, a RYT-200 ashtanga yoga teacher,

It is a seed mantra which signifies unification, bringing together our mind, spirit and physical body, as well as connecting us with the wider universe.

It is often chanted at the end of a yoga practice or meditation practice, along with Third Eye Chakra affirmations to focus the mind. 

The Origins of the Third Eye Chakra Symbol

The Third Eye Chakra was first referred to as the seat of higher consciousness and intuition in ancient Hindu texts. It is often associated with Lord Shiva in Hinduism, who is depicted with the symbolic third eye on his forehead.

The Third Eye Chakra symbol also shares a lot of similarities with the ancient Egyptian symbol of the Eye of Horus. This symbol, representing divine protection, wisdom, and individual consciousness, is also said to be connected with the concept of spiritual sight. 

The mantra Om is first mentioned in the Vedas, which are the oldest scriptures of Hinduism.  

Incorporating the Third Eye Chakra Symbol Into Your Daily Routine

There are lots of different ways that you can use the Third Eye Chakra symbol as a form of chakra energy healing:

Third Eye Chakra Decor

To bring the energy of the Third Eye Chakra into your home, why not invest in some artwork or prints with the Third Eye Chakra symbol.

Placing this symbol in spaces like your living room, bedroom, or meditation area can serve as a reminder to tap into your inner wisdom and strengthen your intuition throughout your day. 

Third Eye Chakra Jewelry

Wearing Third Eye Chakra jewelry can help you stay connected to your intuition and emotional balance throughout the day. Look for pieces that incorporate the Ajna symbol, such as necklaces, bracelets, or earrings.

Additionally, wearing jewelry made from indigo colored stones like amethyst, lapis lazuli, and sodalite can also help unblock this energy center and direct healing life energy towards where you need it most.

You could also hold Third Eye chakra healing crystals while meditating to help further focus your mind. 

Wear Indigo

Since the Third Eye Chakra is associated with the indigo color, wearing clothes or accessories in this shade can also serve as a helpful reminder to connect with your Third Eye. 

You could even combine it with other healing practices by wearing indigo work out clothes for chakra yoga. Try practicing poses like Child’s Pose or Downward-Facing Dog which are particularly beneficial for this energy center. 

Downward facing dog yoga pose


Incorporating the Third Eye Chakra symbol into your daily routine can serve as a gateway to accessing your inner wisdom, illumination, and emotional balance.

By integrating elements like decor, jewelry, and clothing, you’ll create a supportive environment that fosters self-discovery and spiritual growth.


  • Clare Smith

    Hi, I’m Clare – writer and publisher of Chakra Practice. I’m a certified chakra energy healer and a philosophy major. I love researching and writing about everything to do with chakras, including trying out new crystals, candles, essential oils – anything that can help me in my practice.

    View all posts